

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

July 8, 2016

The Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon

Director Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Re: An Application by Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro (Hydro) pursuant to Subsection 41(3) of the Act for the approval of the Turbine Rehabilitation of Bay d'Espoir Unit 4

Following is Hydro's submission with regard to the above noted application.

1.0 Application Background

On June 28, 2016, Hydro filed an Application proposing project involves the rehabilitation of Bay d'Espoir Unit 4 turbine, which is necessary for the supply of safe and adequate and reliable power to the Island Interconnected System.

2.0 Board Schedule

On June 29, 2016 the Board sent an email advising the parties that this application was being processed on an expedited basis. The Board requested that Parties indicate whether they would be issuing Requests for Information (RFIs), before setting the schedule. Newfoundland Power, the Consumer Advocate, the Island Industrial Customers Group, and Vale all confirmed they would not be filing RFIs in relation to the application.

3.0 Hydro's Response

Hydro notes that none of the Parties filed any comments in relation to this application and that Newfoundland Power has specifically advised the Board that it supports this application.

In summary, Hydro states that the capital works for which Hydro has sought approval in the present Application are necessary to ensure that Hydro can continue to provide service which is safe and adequate and just and reasonable as required by Section 37 of the *Act*. Hydro respectfully requests that the Board approve Hydro's application, as submitted.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO

Tracey L. Pennell

Senior Counsel, Regulatory

TLP/bds

cc: Gerard Hayes – Newfoundland Power
Paul Coxworthy – Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales
Sheryl Nisenbaum – Praxair Canada Inc.

Thomas Johnson – Consumer Advocate Thomas J. O'Reilly, Q.C. – Cox & Palmer Larry Bartlett – Teck Resources Limited